Diego Costa nears Cristiano Ronaldo in European Golden Shoe standing

The Brazil-born attacker took his tally to 2013-14 for 15, while Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Robert Lewandowski have entered the top 10

Atletico Madrid striker Diego Costa has moved to within two goals of Cristiano Ronaldo in the European Golden Shoe rankings following his goal in Atleti’s 2-0 Liga win over Elche at the weekend.

The Portugal international did not feature in Real Madrid’s victory over Valladolid as he continues his recovery from a thigh injury.

Borussia Dortmund attacker Robert Lewandowski netted twice from the spot in the Bundesliga giants’ 3-1 away win over Mainz on Saturday to take his tally for the season to 11 – which sees him enter the top 10.

Another fresh face in the top 10 is that of Paris Saint-Germain hitman Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who also converted two penalties in the 4-0 win over Olympique Lyonnais to continue his impressive form this campaign.

* = league season finished

History & How It Works

Players such as Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry and Diego Forlan have won the European Golden Shoe in the past few seasons, with the Argentina international as the latest winner of the award following his 46 goals in 2012-13.

Other noteworthy winners include the likes of Francesco Totti, Luca Toni, Ronaldo, Marco van Basten, Eusebio and Gerd Muller.

The weightings are determined by the league’s ranking on the Uefa coefficients, which in turn depend on the results of each league’s clubs in European competition over the previous five seasons. Goals scored in the top five leagues according to the Uefa coefficients are multiplied by a factor of two, and goals scored in the leagues ranked six to 21 are multiplied by 1.5. Goals in all other leagues are all worth one single point.

This measure has prevented players from so-called weaker leagues from winning the European Golden Shoe, since a goal scored in, for example, Armenia, Estonia or Azerbaijan, carries less weight than a goal scored in Serie A, La Liga, the Bundesliga or the Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *