Rosell ridicules Madrid penalty call

The Blancos beat Elche on Wednesday with a controversial, last-gasp spot kick and the Barcelona chief could not believe the decision

Barcelona president Sandro Rosell has ridiculed the decision to give Real Madrid a stoppage-time penalty that allowed them to beat Elche 2-1.

Cristiano Ronaldo’s free kick looked set to see the Blancos through Wednesday’s Liga clash, but the hosts equalised in added time to make a draw look certain.

However, referee Cesar Muniz Fernandez – who had been making questionable calls perceived to be in the visitors’ favour all game – made a controversial decision to give Carlo Ancelotti’s men a penalty that Ronaldo converted.

Rosell mocked the call and said the decision speaks for itself.

“I still can not believe it,” Rosell told reporters at Thursday’s RFEF assembly in Bilbao.

“Looking at the evidence, there’s no need for me to make any more comment on the issue.”

The result means Real Madrid sit just two points behind the Blaugrana in La Liga, as opposed to four points, while Atletico Madrid are sandwiched between them with six wins out of six in second.

The referee in the Elche-Madrid game, Fernandez, has been rested for the next two matchdays by Spain’s Refereeing Technical Committee following the torrent of criticism towards his decisions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *